Five-Year Cooperative Programs

CLAS partners with 16 universities to allow undergraduate students with a demonstrated commitment to the field the opportunity to complete both a Bachelor's degree and a Master of Arts in Latin American Studies in a total of five years.  The standards for admission into the five-year cooperative program are based on the guidelines established for the MA program.  In addition to the MA requirements, successful applicants generally are Latin American Studies majors with a minimum overall GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. Applicants to the Five-Year Cooperative Degree Program are not required to submit GRE scores. 

Students from our partner schools who intend to enroll in the Five-Year Cooperative Program should declare interest during their junior year and apply during their senior year.  Georgetown undergraduate students should apply during their junior year to ensure the most efficient transition.  For updated deadlines and further information about the application process, please visit the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences admissions website. 

In addition to Georgetown University undergraduates enrolled in the School of Foreign Service or Georgetown College, students at the following sixteen institutions are currently eligible to apply for the Five-Year Cooperative Degree Program:

Boston College

Brown University

Dartmouth College

Duke University

Hampshire College

Haverford College

Hobart and William Smith Colleges

McGill University

Mt. Holyoke College

Rhodes College

Smith College

Tulane University

Union College

The University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill)

Wake Forest University

Wellesley College