Georgetown is a world-class university located in the heart of Washington, D.C. Proximity to the nation’s capital and its dynamic international character contribute to the excellence of a Georgetown University education. Georgetown University also attracts unparalleled academic resources. The university’s faculty include a former secretary of state, ambassadors to the United Nations, economists at the World Bank, White House domestic and foreign policy advisors, attorneys from influential law firms, and prominent academics in renown think tanks. CLAS in particular benefits from its close connections with leading international organizations such as the Organization of American States, the Inter-American Development Bank, the Inter-American Foundation and the World Bank; strong ties with non-profit organizations such as the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, the Washington Office on Latin America, and the Inter-American Dialogue; and a working relationship with Latin American embassies. This environment significantly enhances the blend of theory and practice that lies at the foundation of the School of Foreign Service curriculum.

Our Director

Fr. CarnesFr. Carnes is an associate professor in the Department of Government and SFS. His research examines the dynamics of labor and social welfare policy in developing and middle-income countries. He has conducted extensive field research in Argentina, Peru, Chile, and Bolivia, and has worked on development projects in Honduras, Mexico, Uruguay, Paraguay, and Ecuador. He is the author of Continuity Despite Change: The Politics of Labor Regulation in Latin America (Stanford University Press, 2014), and he has published articles in a wide range of prestigious professional journals. He holds a Ph.D. in Political Science from Stanford University (2008), a M.Div. from the Jesuit School of Theology at Santa Clara University (2003), a M.A. in Philosophical Resources from Fordham University (1997), and a B.A. in International Relations from Stanford University (1992). He is also the recipient of the SFS Faculty of the Year award and the university-wide Dorothy Brown Award.